ASCO Annual Meeting Brings Cancer Researchers to Chicago

ASCO 2017, Olopade

More than 30,000 cancer leaders, physicians, researchers, and trainees gathered in Chicago in early June for the Annual Meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the leading international professional organization for the clinical oncology community. We are always proud to contribute to the latest scientific and clinical advances being presented at the conference, and some of the highlights from our faculty, staff, and trainees are provided below. A complete listing of UChicago presentations is here.

  • Olufunmilayo Olopade, MD, FACP, FASCO, Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine and Human Genetics, received the 2017 ASCO Humanitarian Award for her outstanding contributions to global health, and breast cancer research and care.
  • Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD, professor of pathology, presented his work on understanding the tumor and host factors regulating the response to immunotherapy and strategies to overcome resistance, and led a poster discussion session on determinants of success for immunotherapy.
  • Tara Henderson, MD, associate professor of pediatrics, presented her work on surveillance, prevention, and screening for breast cancer in survivors of childhood, adolescent, and young adult cancer, and led a discussion of oral presentations on organ dysfunction in survivors of pediatric cancer. She also presented a poster on HPV-associated malignancies in survivors of childhood cancer.
  • Rita Nanda, MD, assistant professor of medicine, presented results from the I-SPY 2 trial assessing pembrolizumab plus standard neoadjuvant therapy for high-risk breast cancer (see this Science Life Blog post) and was a co-author on several other studies presented, including a UChicago phase I trial of mifepristone, carboplatin, and gemcitabine in advanced breast and ovarian cancer.
  • Blase Polite, MD, associate professor of medicine and Chair of the ASCO Government Relations Committee, led a poster discussion session on opportunities for closing the gap in cancer care disparities and presented in a session on practicing oncology in the MACRA (Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization) world.
  • Peter O’Donnell, MD, assistant professor of medicine, presented biomarker findings and mature clinical results from the KEYNOTE-052 trial of first-line pembrolizumab in cisplatin-ineligible advanced urothelial cancer.
  • In a session on “Big Data to Improve Outcomes in Cancer: Insights from Pediatric Oncologists,” Robert Grossman, PhD, Frederick H. Rawson Professor of Medicine, discussed the building of data commons and the future of pediatric research, and Samuel Volchenboum, MD, PhD, associate professor of pediatrics, presented his work on neuroblastoma and sarcoma as paradigm cases for harnessing commons.
  • Sonali Smith, MD, professor of medicine, presented on the impact of changes in World Health Organization (WHO) lymphoid malignancy classification on clinical trials.
  • Andrzej Jakubowiak, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, presented data from an open-label, phase 1b trial on daratumumab in combination with carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone (KRd) in newly diagnosed multiple myeloma.
  • Fay Hlubocky, PhD, clinical health psychologist and research ethicist, presented her work on resiliency and its impact on protecting oncologists from burnout, as well as the impact of sleep disturbances on quality of life, psychological morbidity, and survival of advanced cancer patients and caregivers.
  • In “Meet the Professor” sessions, Yusuke Nakamura, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, discussed using genomics for the development of new classes of drugs targeting cancer stem cells, and Mark Ratain, MD, FASCO, Leon O. Jacobson Professor of Medicine, presented his work on developmental therapeutics in older adults with cancer.
  • Jyoti Patel, MD, professor of medicine, led a discussion of oral abstract presentations on advances in metastatic non-small cell lung cancer.
  • Fellow James Godfrey, MD, working with Dr. Smith, presented his work on autologous versus matched sibling donor or matched unrelated donor allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation in follicular lymphoma patients with early chemoimmunotherapy failure.
  • Faculty members Gini Fleming, MD, Daniel Catenacci, MD, Tanguy Seiwert, MD, Hedy Kindler, MD, Jonas de Souza, MD, Monica Malec, MD, Vassiliki Saloura, MD, and Gary Steinberg, MD, presented posters on their latest research findings, and many others were co-authors on multi-institutional studies presented.

Tags: , , , ,

Related posts