In This Section

A Comprehensive Cancer Center Designated by the National Cancer Institute

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board is responsible for evaluating the scientific merit and progress of the Research Projects. These members have provided valuable, independent external assessments to the SPORE investigators, as well as the SPORE Director and SPORE Executive Committee. They have reviewed major programmatic changes in the SPORE research or Administrative Core activities. The EAB has been an essential mechanism for the evaluative process. We use the formal meetings to evaluate progress of the translational breast cancer research projects. The membership of this active and superb EAB is described below:


EAC Member


James Ingle, MD (Chair)

Foust Professor of Oncology at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Nancy Davidson, MD

Professor of Medicine and Immunology, University of Pittsburgh

Jennifer Grandis, MD

Professor, Departments of Otolaryngology and Pharmacology, University of Pittsburgh

Joe Gray, PhD

Dr. Gray is Gordon Moore Endowed Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Director, Oregon Health & Science University's (OHSU) Center for Spatial Systems Biomedicine (OCSSB) and School of Medicine (SoM)

Nola Hylton, PhD

Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center, CEO, James Cancer Hospital & Solve Research Institute, Professor of Cancer Research, The Ohio State University

Kunle Odunsi, MD, PhD

Chair of the Department of Gynecologic Oncology, Director of the Center for Immunotherapy and Co-Leader of the Tumor Immunology and Immunotherapy research program at Roswell Park Cancer Institute (RPCI).

Julie Palmer, ScD

Professor of Epidemiology and Senior Epidemiologist at the Slone Epidemiology Center at Boston University

Charles Perou, PhD

Distinguished Professor of Genetics, Professor, Pathology and Lab Medicine at UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center