Pete Savage lab research, UChicago

Hematopoiesis and Hematological Malignancies

Program Leaders: Wendy Stock, MD, and Lucy Godley, MD, PhD

Members of the Hematopoiesis and Hematological Malignancies Program have played a major role in the identification of many genes that are involved in normal hematopoiesis (the development of blood cells), as well as in the pathogenesis of blood cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma and multiple myeloma, over the past 30 years. The identification of genetic pathways involved in hematological malignant diseases has important implications for the diagnosis and treatment of these diseases. The Hematopoiesis and Hematological Malignancies Program comprises 30 members from three academic departments who are tightly linked by common research themes.

The key research themes of the Hematopoiesis and Hematological Malignancies Program include:

  • Discover the mechanisms of normal hematopoiesis and neoplasia, including transcriptional and epigenetic regulation, stem cell biology, chromosomal abnormalities, and molecular pathogenesis;
  • Define recurring molecular genetic/epigenetic abnormalities, and risk factors of hematological malignancies; and
  • Design novel, molecularly targeted clinical trials for hematological malignancies.
  • Current Members

    Farah Abdulla, MD
    Andrew Artz, MD
    Michael Bishop, MD
    Jason Cheng, MD, PhD
    Jane Churpek, MD
    John Cunningham, MBBCh, MSc
    Jill de Jong, MD, PhD
    Lucy Godley, MD, PhD
    Fotini Gounari, PhD, DSc
    Andrzej Jakubowiak, MD, PhD
    Barbara Kee, PhD
    Richard Larson, MD
    Michelle Le Beau, PhD
    Zejuan Li, MD, PhD
    Hongtao Liu, MD, PhD
    Jennifer McNeer, MD
    Megan McNerney, MD, PhD
    Olatoyosi Odenike, MD
    Sonali Smith, MD
    Wendy Stock, MD
    Michael Thirman, MD
    Girish Venkataraman, MD
    James Vardiman, MD (emeritus)
    Y. Lynn Wang, MD, PhD
    Amittha Wickrema, PhD
    Todd Zimmerman, MD

    Associate Members

    John Anastasi, MD
    Beverly Baron, MD
    Kenneth Cohen, MD
    Sandeep Gurbuxani, MBBS, PhD
    Elizabeth Hyjek, MD, PhD
    Susana Marino, MD, PhD