In This Section

A Comprehensive Cancer Center Designated by the National Cancer Institute

Research Program

Cancer Prevention and Control

Program Leaders: Habibul Ahsan, MBBS, MMedSc, and Andrea King, PhD

The overall goals of the Cancer Prevention and Control Program are to harness the intellectual capacity at UChicago to determine the environmental, genetic, psychological, biobehavioral, and economic factors underlying the etiology, risk, prevention, diagnosis, prognosis, and survivorship of cancer. Of the Program’s 43 members, the majority are focused on local and global health disparities research, which serves as a cross-cutting theme for all programmatic goals.

The scientific goals of the programs are to:

  • Identify novel genomic, nutritional, and environmental determinants and their interactions in cancer risk;
  • Identify the biological and behavioral basis for tobacco and alcohol use, and apply this knowledge to develop prevention and cessation-related treatment strategies;
  • Examine biological and behavioral factors related to screening, early detection, and prevention of cancer;
  • Investigate the bio-behavioral, psychosocial, and environmental determinants of cancer-related health outcomes, including survivorship; and
  • Examine cost-effectiveness and economic factors related to cancer diagnosis, treatment, and survivorship.

The Cancer Prevention and Control Program is known for its strengths in molecular, biobehavioral, and clinical research, as well as its strengths in epidemiology and environmental health and genetics.

Cancer Outcomes and Policy Workgroup

The Cancer Outcomes and Policy Workgroup is a research initiative of the Cancer Prevention and Control scientific program of the University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center. Convening once a month to share and discuss their ongoing work focused on cancer outcomes and policy, the group aims to stimulate innovative research and affect positive change by bringing together and fostering collaborations between clinical and population researchers. Learn more

Program Members:

Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care
Daniel McGeHee, PhD
Chun-Su Yuan, MD, PhD

Department of Health Studies
Habibul Ahsan, MBBS, MMedSc
Brian Chiu, PhD
James Dignam, PhD
Dezheng Huo, MD, PhD
Brandon Pierce, PhD
Fabrice Smieliauskas, PhD

Department of Human Genetics
Anna Di Rienzo, PhD

Department of Medicine
Marc Bissonnette, MD
Eugene Chang, MD
Nancy Cox, PhD
Jonas de Souza, MD
William Dale, MD, PhD
Christopher Daugherty, MD
Joshua Hemmerich, PhD
Susan Hong, MD, MPH
Karen Kim, MD, MS
Sonia Kupfer, MD
Yan Chun Li, PhD
David Meltzer, MD, PhD
Olufunmilayo Olopade, MBBS
Aasim Padela, MD, MSc
Joel Pekow, MD
Blase Polite, MD, MPH
David Rubin, MD
Ya-Chen Tina Shih, PhD
Irving Waxman, MD

Department of Neurobiology
William Green, PhD

Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Stacy Tessler Lindau, MD, MAPP
Iris Romero, MD

Department of Pathology
Mark Lingen, DDS, PhD

Department of Pediatrics
Kenneth Alexander, MD, PhD
Rena Conti, PhD
Tara Henderson, MD, MPH

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
Harriet de Wit, PhD
Andrea King, PhD

Department of Psychology
Martha McClintock, PhD

Department of Radiation and Cellular Oncology
David Grdina, PhD
Yasmin Hasan, MD

Department of Surgery
Raymon Grogan, MD
Nora Jaskowiak, MD
Swati Kulkarni, MD

racial disparities