In This Section

A Comprehensive Cancer Center Designated by the National Cancer Institute

Research Program

Advanced Imaging

Program Leaders: Greg Karczmar, PhD, and Heber MacMahon, MB, BCh

The University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center is at the forefront of the imaging revolution that is transforming cancer care. Extraordinary advances in imaging pioneered at the Comprehensive Cancer Center are helping specialists diagnose cancer in its early, less harmful stages and attack tumors with greater precision and with less harm to healthy tissue. Imaging is a crucial element in cancer treatment, as it can be used to assess response to therapy and serves as an integral part of clinical trials for new drugs, as well as facilitates the development of customized, optimal therapies for individual patients. Research in the Advanced Imaging Program, consisting of 25 members spanning a wide variety of disciplines, ranges from studies of animal models of cancer, to in vitro studies of tissues, to clinical research studies.

The specific aims of the Advancing Imaging Program are to:

  • Improve understanding of cancer biology and physiology;
  • Enhance risk assessment and early detection;
  • Guide therapy; and
  • Develop and implement new approaches to image reconstruction and analysis to support the above aims.

The program strives to achieve these goals by integrating and focusing the work of investigators with established research programs and by promoting collaborations.

Program Members:

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Anthony Kossiakoff, PhD

Department of Medicine
Vani Konda, MD

Department of Radiation and Cellular Oncology
Hania Al-Hallaq, PhD
Bulent Aydogan, PhD
Howard Halpern, MD, PhD
Stanley Liauw, MD
Charles Pelizzari, PhD

Department of Radiology
Hiroyuki Abe, MD
Daniel Appelbaum, MD
Samuel Armato, PhD
Chin-Tu Chen, PhD
Abraham Dachman, MD
Maryellen Giger, PhD
Yulei Jiang, PhD
Chien-Min Kao, PhD
Gregory Karczmar, PhD
Patrick La Riviere, PhD
Heber MacMahon, MB, BCh
Aytekin Oto, MD
Xiaochun Pan, PhD
Yonglin Pu, MD, PhD
Steffen Sammet, MD, PhD
Charlene Sennett, MD
Michael Vannier, MD

Department of Surgery
Issam A. Awad, MD, MS